Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

President Jokowi: ASEAN Must Work Together for Peace and Prosperity


Jakarta – President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) officially opened the 43rd ASEAN Summit at the Jakarta Convention Center (JCC), Tuesday (5/9/2023).

“By saying bismillahirahmanrirahiim, I hereby officially declare the 43rd ASEAN Summit and other summits open,” said Jokowi in his welcoming speech.

Jokowi also welcomed the leaders of ASEAN countries to Jakarta. He said that all Indonesian people were very happy to welcome the presence of the country’s leaders as a big ASEAN family.

“I’m sure not only Indonesia, but all ASEAN member countries have the same sense of pride, have the same sense of love, for the family we call ASEAN,” said Jokowi.

At the opening of the plenary session, President Jokowi said that ASEAN needed a long-term tactical strategy.

“ASEAN also needs a long-term tactical strategy. “Not just for 5 years, but for 20 years until 2045,” he said.

President Jokowi also mentioned that rivalry is now getting bigger. He emphasized that ASEAN agreed not to be a proxy for any power, but to work together for peace and prosperity.

“Don’t make our ASEAN ship an arena for rivalry that destroys each other, but make this ASEAN ship a field to foster cooperation, to create prosperity, create stability, create peace not only for the region but also for the world,” said Jokowi.

ASEAN’s responsibility, according to President Jokowi, is enormous, so all ASEAN leaders must ensure the future of the ASEAN people.

“There are hundreds of millions of ASEAN people sailing in the middle of a storm. So we have to keep this ship moving forward, and be the captain of our own ship, for the sake of peace, stability and prosperity. “The 43rd Summit Plenary Session is hereby opened,” he concluded.

The opening ceremony was also attended by leaders and representatives of countries participating in the ASEAN Summit, namely Lao Prime Minister (PM) Sonexay Siphandone, Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Manet, Head of Thai Delegation Sarun Charoensuwan, and President of the Philippines Ferdinan Marcos Jr.

Then, Singapore PM Lee Hsien Loong, Malaysian PM Anwar Ibrahim, Vietnam PM Pham Minh Chinh, Timor Leste PM Xanana Gusmao, Cooks Islands PM Mark Brown, Bangladesh President Mohammed Shahabuddin, and Brunei Darussalam Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.